Love Languages

The Five Love Languages
You may of heard the phrase: 5 love languages floating around over the past couple of years, but did you know that Dr Gary Chapman published his book The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate in 1992 and has been helping millions of people strengthen their relationships and discover the way they give and receive love for 28 years?

According to Dr chapman, we all have one primary and one secondary love language.
He theorises that we naturally tend to give love in the way that we like to receive it. Dr Chapman says we can experience better communication in our relationships when one can exercise caring to the other person in the love language the recipient understands. For example, if a husband’s love language is acts of service, he may be confused when he does the dishes for his wife but she doesn’t perceive that as an act of love and instead, see it as a household duty because the love language that she understands is words of affirmation. She may try to use her love language which he might not value as much as she does. If they both discover their love languages & the wife mows the lawn for him and the husband uses words of affirmation and tells her he loves her, communication and bonds within the relationship would strengthen.   

According to Dr Gary Chapman, the five love languages are:

Receiving gifts,
Quality time
Words of affirmation
Acts of service
Physical touch

Leave a comment